

## **Arkansas County Name Origins in Order of Formation**

Arkansas - December 13, 1813; form of Arcansa, name of Quapaw natives

Lawrence – January 15, 1815; Captain James Lawrence, fought in War of 1812

Clark - December 15, 1818; William Clark, U.S. Provincial Governor of Missouri Territory

Hempstead - December 15, 1818; Edward Hempstead, delegate to Congress from Missouri

Pulaski - December 15, 1818; Count Casimir Pulaski; Polish patriot served under Washington during American Revolution

Miller – April 1, 1820; James Miller, 1<sup>st</sup> Territorial Governor of Arkansas

Phillips - May 1, 1820; Sylvanus Phillips, member of Territorial Legislature who settled near the mouth

of the St. Francis River in 1797

Crawford – October 18, 1820; William H. Crawford, Secretary of War in 1815

Independence – October 20, 1820; The Declaration of Independence

Chicot – October 25, 1823; Point Chicot on the Mississippi River

Conway – October 20, 1825; Henry W. Conway, delegate to Congress 1823-1827

Crittenden – October 22, 1825; Robert Crittenden, 1<sup>st</sup> Secretary of Arkansas Territory

Izard - October 27, 1825; George Izard, 2<sup>nd</sup> Governor of Arkansas Territory

St. Francis – October 13, 1827; St. Francis River

Lafayette - October 15, 1827; Marquis de Lafayette of France, fought for United States in American Revolution

Sevier - October 17, 1828; Ambrose H. Sevier, U. S. Senator from Arkansas

**Washington** – October 17, 1828; George Washington, 1<sup>st</sup> U. S. President

Union – November 2, 1829; Group of citizens presented petitions to Legislature in the spirit of "Union and Unity".

**Pope** – November 2, 1829; John Pope, 3<sup>rd</sup> Territorial Governor

Monroe - November 2, 1829; James Monroe, 5th U. S. President

**Jefferson** – November 2, 1829; Thomas Jefferson, 3<sup>rd</sup> U.S. President

Hot Spring – November 2, 1829; the hot springs which were then located within the county's boundaries – the springs were included in Garland County's boundaries upon its formation in 1873

Jackson - November 5, 1829; Andrew Jackson, 7th U.S. President

Mississippi – November 1, 1833; The Mississippi River

Pike – November 1, 1833; Lt. Zebulon Pike, explorer who discovered Pike's Peak

Carroll - November 1, 1833; Charles Carroll, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence

Greene – November 5, 1833; General Nathaniel Greene of Revolutionary War fame

Scott - November 5, 1833; Andrew Scott, Supreme Court Judge of Arkansas Territory

Van Buren – November 11, 1833; Martin Van Buren, 8th U. S. President

Johnson - November 16, 1833; Benjamin Johnson, Territorial Judge

White - October 23, 1835; Hugh L. White, 1836 Whig candidate for U. S. President

Randolph – October 29, 1835; John Randolph, Virginia Congressman

Saline – November 2, 1835; salt springs, located in county

Marion – November 3, 1835; General Frances Marion of Revolutionary War fame

Madison – September 30, 1836; James Madison, 4th U. S. President

Benton – September 30, 1836; Thomas Hart Benton, U. S. Senator from Missouri

Franklin – December 19, 1837; Benjamin Franklin, inventor and American Statesman

**Poinsett** – February 28, 1838; Joel R. Poinsett, Secretary of War at the time who introduced the cultivation of the poinsettia flower to the U. S.

**Desha** – December 12, 1838; Captain Benjamin Desha, War of 1812 veteran

Searcy - December 13, 1938; Richard Searcy, Territorial Judge and 1st Circuit Clerk of Lawrence County

**Yell** – December 5, 1840; Archibald Yell, 2<sup>nd</sup> Governor of Arkansas

Perry - December 18, 1840; Commodore Oliver Howard Perry, War of 1812 naval hero

Bradley - December 18, 1840; Captain Hugh Bradley, War of 1812 veteran

Ouachita – November 29, 1842; The Ouachita River

Montgomery - December 9, 1842; Richard Montgomery, American General in Revolutionary War

Newton – December 14, 1842; Thomas W. Newton, Arkansas congressman 1844-48

Fulton - December 21, 1842; William S. Fulton, last governor of Arkansas Territory and Arkansas senator

Polk – November 30, 1844; James Polk, 11th U. S. President

Dallas – January 1, 1845; George M. Dallas, U. S. Vice-President, 1845-49

**Prairie** – October 25, 1846; The Grand Prairie

**Drew** – November 26, 1846; Thomas S. Drew, 3<sup>rd</sup> Governor of Arkansas

Ashley – November 30, 1848; Chester Ashley, U. S. Senator from Arkansas 1844-61

Calhoun – December 6, 1850; John C. Calhoun, U. S. Vice – President

Sebastian – January 6, 1851; William K. Sebastian, U. S. Senator from Arkansas 1848-1861

Columbia - December 17, 1852; feminine representation of American national character

Craighead - February 19, 1859; Thomas C. Craighead, state senator

Cross – November 15, 1862: Colonel David C. Cross, political leader of the area

Woodruff - November 26, 1862; William E. Woodruff, founder of the Arkansas Gazette, the state's first newspaper

Little River – March 5, 1867; the Little River

Sharp – July 18, 1868; Ephriam Sharp, state legislator from the district

Grant – February 4, 1869; Ulysses S. Grant, 18th U. S. President

**Boone** – April 9, 1869; probably for frontiersman Daniel Boone

Nevada – March 20, 1871; state of Nevada because the outline of the county is similar to the outline of the state

Logan – March 22, 1871; Originally named Sarver County in honor of a state senator; was changed in 1875

in honor of James Logan, a pioneer resident of the area

**Lincoln** – March 28, 1871; Abraham Lincoln, 16th U. S. President

**Baxter** – March 24, 1873; Elisha Baxter, 10<sup>th</sup> Governor of Arkansas

Clay – March 24, 1873; John M. Clayton, member of the state senate; the 1875 Legislature dropped the last syllable of the name, changing it from Clayton to Clay

Garland – April 5, 1873; Augustus H. Garland, 11<sup>th</sup> Governor of Arkansas

Faulkner - April 12, 1873; Sanford C. Faulkner, originator of the "Arkansas Traveler"

Lonoke - April 16, 1873; A "Lone Oak" tree that stood on the site of the present county seat and was used as a landmark

Cleveland – April 17, 1873; Originally names Dorsey in honor of Steven W. Dorsey, U. S. Senator from Arkansas;

changed in the 1885 in honor of 22st U.S. President Grover Cleveland

Lee – April 17, 1873; Robert E. Lee, Confederate General

Howard - April 17, 1873; James Howard, state senator

Stone – April 21, 1873; the natural formation of the area

Cleburne – February 20, 1883; General Patrick R. Cleburne